top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy

Onyda Talks On 'Waitress' And Filming The Music Video

Introducing Onyda to the blog. The Stoke on Trent singer songwriter is one to watch, releasing their most recent single 'Waitress' earlier this year. Onyda's originality with their alternative pop sound, set them above the rest. Communicating though music, Onyda's spellbinding lyrics explore tumultuous times in their life. We talk to Onyda about the creative process behind this song along with filming the music video.


“This song is a very literal account of a time in my life that was, by all accounts, a mess. Being a young person trying to figure out who they are in this world can be a painful process, the story kind of tells itself, you don't have to listen too hard to get what it's about.” - Onyda

 

Onyda

Hi! Welcome to the blog! Could you introduce yourself and where you are from?


"Hey! I’m Onyda, real name Shae, and I’m from Stoke on Trent."


Are you able to explain the creative process behind making your latest single ‘Waitress’ ? Did it start with an influence?


"Waitress started with the story, it’d been bubbling away in my subconscious for years, based on a chaotic time in my life when I lived in Manchester. It was one of those songs that just flows through you and kind of writes itself, I wrote it sitting at the piano and it all came together pretty fast. The production in the studio with Ben came really naturally too, it just really leant itself to the atmospheric vibe, crashing symbols, that kind of thing. It was one of the easy ones for me."


This is your latest release in 2022, what does this year have in store for you?


"A lot of live gigs and the development of the 2nd EP! Can’t wait, honestly, the journey is the best part."


This track came with a music video based in a cafe. What was it like being on set?

"It was like chilling at home! Filming videos can get stressful, but this one was just like any other day to me. I’ve spent my life in Stoke Cafes so it’s a real comfort space. This song is a vulnerable one in its subject matter and it was a little weird watching actors recreate scenes from your past, but all in all it was pretty pain free."


Got any good stories to tell us from filming?


"My mum might read this so I’d better not. Ha!"


Possibly the most important question… What is your go to cafe order?

"Full English breakfast, the kind that puts you in a coma afterwards. Hash browns are a must and orange juice. Or chips and gravy, can’t forget about that… well, I don’t think I actually could seeing as I eat it 3 or 4 times a week. I should probably cut that down."


Onyda

What do you think is the biggest misconception about being an artist?


"I’d say that people who don’t see themselves as artists think of people who do as being skilled elite professionals who know exactly what they’re doing. We’re all just winging it. Sure, it’s a craft and skills can be honed but we all have imposter syndrome and humans are creative creatures, we’re all artists at heart really."


Can you suggest to us three songs we need to hear?

Your Sweet Love - Lee Hazlewood

Love Hangover - Diana Ross

Rag waa Nacab iyo Nasteexo - Aaina Camaari



Connect with Onyda

 

30th March 2022

Written by Amy James

bottom of page