top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy

Dylan (Dylan Flynn & The Dead Poets) Talked To Us About His Creative Influence And Writing New Music

Dylan Flynn & The Dead Poets are a five-piece indie band hailing from Limerick Ireland. Already gaining acknowledgement from over half a million people on TikTok with one track 'Running Away', Dylan Flynn & The Dead Poets are definitely ones to watch.

With their new single 'Life' out last week, we took a moment to chat to Dylan on the bands music and what the next step is for 2023.

 

Hi! Welcome to the blog! Could you introduce yourself and where you are from?

Hi! I’m Dylan from Dylan Flynn and The Dead Poets and we are a 5-piece Indie Rock band from Limerick City, Ireland.


What was the creative process like behind making your latest single ‘Life’? Did it start with an influence?

Recently I’ve been listening to a lot more Alt-Country/Americana music and I ended up writing the riff that I play throughout the song. When you listen to it by itself, it sounds like a country riff, but with the combination of all the other instruments, it takes on a new life.



Your music is the perfect fusion of alternative rock mixed with vulnerable lyricism, when writing music do you focus on the rhythm first or the narrative of the song?

I don’t think I have one way of writing to be honest. Both those options are valid for me, but I think a lot of time lyrics come into my head an inspire me. I do sit down with an instrument, or more often, my laptop from time to time and start building a song, but that happens less I feel.


2022 has been a good year for you with live shows and your own headline tour. How was this experience and can we expect any more shows soon?

It’s been great! We really got thrown in at the deep end when gigs came back, and we are extremely grateful for that. Getting to support NewDad and Milk. was amazing and on top of that we played our first Irish your which was better than we ever could have imagined. We have a big announcement in relation to shows coming in January, so keep your eyes peeled.



Being a musician is one of the hardest jobs creatively - how do you stay creative and how do you know when to take a break.

I don’t think I’m ever not creative, and I think the same goes for the rest of the band. Everyone has their own personal project too, so if we aren't working on the band stuff, we are working on something else. I think just showing up and doing the work is the only way of staying creative. If you wait for inspiration or creativity to come to you, you’ll be waiting awhile. If you try and do something creative every day, even if it’s awful, you’ll eventually stumble upon something good. That said, you have to know when to take a step back. Time after time I don’t allow myself a break and end up burning out. But as time has gone on, I’ve learned to spot the signs earlier and I think I’ve gotten to point now where I can sense the need to walk away and come back tomorrow.


If people took one thing from your music, what do you wish it would be?

I just hope that people connect with our tunes, the same way we do. I write for myself, but I hope the stories and lessons told in our music can lend a hand to others.



Connect With The Band Here: Instagram / Spotify

 

November 2022

bottom of page