top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy

Kids Of Adelaide Take Us Through Their New Album Track By Track

Updated: Sep 10, 2022

Kids of Adelaide release their brand new conceptional album 'The Cabin Tapes', out now.


The two friends that make up Kids of Adelaide are Severin Specht and Benjamin Nolle, both with some very individual aspects that they bring together to encapsulate the sound of Kids of Adelaide.

Their latest album is a clever collection of songs, each with their own soundscapes to ensure it really is the two friends authentic work. The 11 tracks wind around some hostile and touching subjects all whilst being recorded within a cabin in the woods - hopefully you've worked out why it is called 'The Cabin Tapes' from this.

Kids of Adelaide talk to us on their album and dig deeper into the stories behind each track.


TRACKLIST

1. Atmosphere

2. Wasting Time

3. The Five Minute Drive

4. Chimney Sweeper

5. Walking Together

6. Until We Fade

7. Complicated Things But A Simple Life

8. The Beauty & The Pain

9. I Still Wonder

10. Carry Me On

11. Standing In The Blue Hour



Atmosphere

Severin & Benni:

"Atmposhere is the song on the album that was written first and due to its topic it became the opener of the album. After almost 10 years as a band

we noticed that we had somehow disconnected from each other,

feeling in the wrong place and lacking a common vision of our future.

The song describes this feeling and the process of getting back

together, leaving worries and struggles behind. It’s vital for

us to create an atmosphere in which everyone can be

oneself, get inspired, inspire each other and love what

we’re doing. After this song was written and we talked to each other

very honestly, sharing our troubles, wishes and ideas we were really

ready to work on the new album. Therefore we went to a secluded cabin in

the forests to create the “Atmosphere“ we needed."

Wasting Time

Benni:

"I actually started writing this song when I was 32 about two and a half years ago but

did never finish it somehow. After vacation in Greece where I met a guy who kinda opened

my eyes in a five hour discussion I stumbled upon this song again and could finally finish it.

It‘s about the actual state of my life. Seeing my old

friends from school taking a different direction, choosing another

lifestyle with deviant goals and opinions left me

wondering about if there is a “right“ way of wasting one’s

time. And along came the self-doubt. The awareness of

every moment being unique sometimes seems to make it even harder

to decide which way to go for me. How do I wanna “waste my time“? How do I wanna live

and what do I wanna live for?"

The Five Minute Drive

Severin:

"I wrote this song for my brother Sebastian who is also our tour manager and sound engineer.

He’s only two years older than me so we already spent most of our time together when we were kids.

As we work together now nothing has really changed, we're still spending a lot of our time together and especially for siblings that cannot be taken for granted. Until last year we even lived together in a house with Benni where we also produce our music and rehearse.

Realising that all these moments we shared will never come back again made these memories of all the moments I shared with my brother even more precious and meaningful to me.

So I wanted to appreciate these memories and thank my brother for everything we’ve been

through together so far, for his support and belief, passion and patience.

The eponymous memory is about the drive from the old to the new house when we moved for the first time. It took about five minutes and we always hoped for a good song playing on the radio."

Chimney Sweeper

Severin:

"This song is one of those which weren’t written at the cabin.

I was watching the happenings in the street from my window and our neighbours

doing whatever they did it this moment and I somehow empathized with them

and their very different situations. There was an instrumental that Benni had recorded

some time ago that I was listening to at the time that I used as a musical fundament.

So this song is an ode to empathy. Everyone is an individual

universe of emotions, experiences, fears and dreams. Understanding

and accepting this brings us closer together as human beings and

as a whole society. In times when we don’t even know our neighbours

anymore it’s more important than ever to sometimes take a close look

why people are who they are and how they became the person they are

even if our opinions and beliefs may differ."

@Kim Hoss

Walking Together

Severin:

"Benni came up with the guitar riff that really got me (Severin) hooked right away.

After recording guitar, bass and drums he went out for a smoke and I wrote the

lyrics.

It is a retrospective of my childhood. Remembering the old days I recognized

how deep the connections between then and today really are. Its like

a rope from now into the 90s. I remember being in the workshop of my

father and how fascinating it was to work with a hatchet

for the first time and how I still love woodworking today. It’s interesting to

see how much of what defines us as individuals can be related to more or less

specific experiences or moments in our childhood.

I remember how excited we were after finishing the first demo at the cabin.

The warmth and positive vibe of the song made us listen to it for at least ten times

in a row, jumping around and cheering like little kids. "

Until We Fade

Severin & Benni:

"This song is about the feeling of isolation, being thrown

into the world alone. We believe, love is the only thing that

can release us from this deep frightening feeling. It allows

us to take ourselves less important. It creates a feeling of

being accepted and resonating with the world, being part

of something bigger. Among “Standing In The Blue Hour“ it’s the

only song without drums on the album. Almost all of the tracks were

taken from the demo we recorded in the cabin because we loved the

imperfection so much."

Complicated Things But A Simple Life

Severin:

"This song starts with a rhythmic, driving sound consisting of hi-hat and a very noisy

arpeggiator. It‘s a reference to The War on Drug’s “Under The Pressure“ which

features a similar sound that we always liked very much. In general they are one of the

most important influences for “The Cabin Tapes“.

The lyrics are kinda divided in three layers, one of them is a look back on what we did so

far with the band, but also about our youth and what has changed. We had a tough time

as a band and a lot of things went wrong so we finally somehow lost our passion. I think this song is something like my conclusion with this time. So the other two layers are

rather looking at what lies ahead, how I would like to live my life with my girlfriend but also as

a professional musician with all these new experiences we made in the past.

It’s okay for me if things sometimes get a bit complicated but overall I would like to

have a simple life, appreciating the things I have and the people around me, being able to

focus on our music and what else is important to me."

The Beauty & The Pain

Benni:

"Memories are like pictures that we paint during our lives.

They reach from overwhelming beauty to the deepest pain

and everything in between. While both sides couldn’t exist

without each other it is challenging everyone’s acceptance

of life in all its contradictions.

It was pretty late and we stood outside at the cabin when

this metaphor appeared in my head: The beauty and the pain like

a picture and the frame. I think if everything is always comfortable and

you never have to experience pain in any way it’s also really hard to

see and feel the beauty and the significance of moments and all the

things we take for granted today. At the cabin we had to cut wood and

make a fire in the oven and especially during the winter it really took a while

until the temperature was okay inside. But the work we had to do and the time

we had to wait for the warmth made us appreciate it even more in the end."

I Still Wonder

Benni:

"This song was very much inspired by the thoughts of Hartmut Rosa,

a german sociologist and political scientist. Thanks to my friend Jonathan

I got in touch with Rosa’s books and theories and it really influenced

my thinking about our world and how we are put in it.

The song questions the inherent human search for

knowledge and availability in general. It is blessing and

curse, boon and bane, at the same time. On one side it’s

determinant for our understanding of the world and the

creation of wealth, while on the other, it is also one of the

major reasons for the exploitation of the planet, ecological

and social dislocations. It’s also about the personal

perspective: Do I have to know everything? Do I have to

see everything to have a fulfilled life? Or does the

everlasting striving for more and deeper experiences lead

to the feeling of never getting enough, a hunger that never

can be satisfied in a world, thats creating new possibilities

too fast to follow?"


@Kim Hoss

Carry Me On

Benni:

"We come from Stuttgart in southern Germany and had the luck of

having an easy childhood without any troubles and we know that this

is a great privilege. I’m really thankful for all I was given by my parents

who always supported me in every way they could.

This is a song for my parents and about the fear of losing

them. The certainty to exist without their guidance, advice

and unquestioning love is something that really concerns

me and challenges me. The memories of being a child,

being carried by my father, being loved by my mother, set

the scene for the song. It was written at the cabin too and I remember starting

with the driving drum rhythm only and somehow it became one

of these moments when the words just start flowing and so the lyrics

almost wrote themselves."

Standing In The Blue Hour

Severin:

"This song actually was created out of a moment of doubt. When we recorded the

demo of "Walking Together“ we tried out many different things. We ended up with

numerous versions of the track and I remember that I started doubting the song somehow,

wondering if it was cool at all. Sometimes that happens when you think too much about songs.

So I went outside for a walk, sat by the fireplace, called my girlfriend and told her about my doubts.

She kinda got me back on track with her encouraging words and so I went on and realised the beauty of this very moment, being able to be at this wonderful place to write music. Watching the silhouettes of the trees contrasting the sky I realised that it was already starting to get dark. I was literally standing in the blue hour.

The lyrics are a description of this special moment."


Connect With Kids of Adelaide:

 

September 2022




bottom of page