top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy

Joshua Idehen Takes Us Through His New EP Track By Track

Joshua Idehen is one of the most exciting artists of 2022. With his poetic take and infamous blend of lo-fi-house and soul, his recently released EP 'Hold Up Your Chin' justifies his talent.

Pushing new boundaries sonically, Joshua talked us through his EP track by track so we can get a deeper understanding of the process and the individual meanings.


On the EP, Joshua says: "Ludvig and I, we made these songs throughout 2021. Like a lot of us, the journey into the new decade was a bit rough, internally and external, and I wanted to add as much joy as I could back into the fold, and I guess that meant lo-fi house and gospel choruses. I’ve been blessed to work with the absolute giants who’ve come together to make my words sound so fresh. This EP is hopefully a first of many statements.”


Photo By Agatha Powa

Don’t You Give Up On Me: "At the end of 2020 I felt I was done making sad music about my sad head: I wanted to make happy music about my sad head, or at least sad music you could bop to. I told Ludvig my plans, a week later he sent the first beat. The song wrote itself pretty much from there."


I Got You Every Step Of The Way (For Leone Ross): "Leone is an amazing writer, godmother to my daughter, and one of the best friends I’ve been privileged to have. I had friendship as a big theme with this project and this song was framed wholly around her."


What We’re Doing Tonight: "I’m forever writing the same love song, which is “a song about a relationship on a knife-edge”. This is the 1785th one. Shout-out to Katie Dove Dixon for being a legend on the bvs."


Don’t You Give Up On Me (Jordan Stephens And Lazy Habits Remix): "I tweeted at Jordan that he was someone I’d like to work with. We’d known each other for a while but hadn’t had the opportunity. Anyway, he responded in the affirmative and I took it to the DMs. James (Lazy Habits) I’ve known for ages and is one of the UK’s finest. Making this happen was a dream."


Don’t You Give Up On Me (Scrimshire Remix): "Adam is just one of those people who’s always knocked it out of the park with his production. One day we’re gonna make an EP together - just as soon as he stops faffing about with his own stuff. Until then, until then…."


Don’t You Give Up On Me (United Freedom Collective Remix): "I only found out about these guys this year and wow: their sound is just *chef’s kiss*. I love this remix a little more than a lot, you know."

CONNECT WITH JOSHUA HERE: Instagram / Spotify

 

November 2022




bottom of page