top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy

Thom Southern Drops Latest EP - 'To Be Loved By A Fool'

With previous singles 'Strange Invitations' and 'My My Honey' on this brand new EP from Thom, the stake is already high for the other tracks, especially title track 'To Be Loved By A Fool'.

Starting his musical career busking in Belfast aged 16, Thom Southern has been climbing the ladder ever since including plays on BBC Radio 1 and working with Grammy-winning producer Adrian Bushby (Muse, Foo Fighters, Feeder).



Bursting with buoyant beats and guided guitar riffs, 'To Be Loved By A Fool' is a story of drunken love. Setting the atmosphere right with his soundscape, Thom makes a bed to lay his narrative lyricism on.


On this Track Thom Southern explains;

"The song ‘To Be Loved By A Fool’ is a reflection on the intoxicating experience of being drunk in love. I wrote and recorded it in my Belfast home studio. You never know where or how things will go in a relationship so I wanted the production/performance to feel out of control with spontaneous structures and chaotic energy. I kept the lyrics simple but poignant outlining the euphoric emotions of love but also the insecurities that come with it."


"The closing track of the EP ‘Sad Rose Of All My Days’ is an ode to W. B. Yeats and his poem ‘To The Rose Upon The Rood Of Time’. I wanted to create a hypnotic repetitive soundscape around one line from the poem, ‘Red rose, proud rose, sad rose of all my days’, to enhance the concept of beauty being eternal but at the same time there being an underlying tone of suffering from things lost and perhaps never returning to how they used to be.I really like when bodies of work take you on a journey so the sense of calm this song gives at the end of the EP is perfect to me."


This EP is the perfect poem of Thom Southern's stories and future endeavours.

Catch him at a live show below!


Connect With Thom Southern:

 

29th July 2022



bottom of page