top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy

SOFY - On A Mission To Bring Back Britpop

Updated: Jan 24, 2022


Written By Amy James

 

Bringing the sound of Britpop/Indie-Pop/Hip-Hop inspired music - meet the artist SOFY talking on her success of 2021.


Introducing SOFY, born in Leicester the 24-year-old is an upcoming artist with three singles out this year (2021). She has rapidly grown in a short space of time kick-starting her career with her song ‘Strawberry Milkshake’ which was listed as Radio 1 Introducing Track of The Week. There is no doubt she is gaining a reputation with her Britpop sound and bright aura.


Introducing SOFY

Hi, welcome to the blog! From your latest music we feel you give off an indie-pop nostalgia sound. What kind of music would you say you create? 


SOFY: I would describe my sound as hip-hop inspired indie pop with a big britpop influence in there as well. 


Your debut single ‘Strawberry Milkshake’ came out in 2021. Was there an inspiration behind the song? AND can you recommend any places to grab the best milkshake in London or elsewhere?


SOFY: Strawberry Milkshake is all about following your gut and not overthinking things in relationships or just life in general. Basically, if it feels right to you, then f*** what everyone else thinks. As for the milkshake reccs, I’m actually still searching for the best place -  so if anyone knows of a good one please slide into my DMs!


We can recommend 'Miki's Paradise' in London... the freakshakes are to die for!


As a talented upcoming artist in COVID times, has this time allowed you to focus more on your music? Almost a blessing in disguise?


SOFY: Definitely, I was furloughed in the first lockdown and that’s what really got me into making music, because I finally had time to sit back and have a think about what really made me happy and what I really wanted to do with my life. Then I started writing songs, fell in love with it and haven’t looked back since! 

 

A lot of artists usually write music based on personal experiences, would you say this is something you do, or do you approach the creative process differently? 


SOFY: All of my music is written about real world situations and navigating life in London in your twenties, but I get my inspiration for songs from all over the place to be honest. Some of my music is based on my own experiences and other stuff is based on things I’ve overheard on the tube, conversations with friends and stuff like that. I’m that weirdo taking notes on my phone behind you if you’re arguing with your boyfriend on the bus haha. 


Your debut EP is out in February! What part of creating the EP has been the hardest or most challenging thing for you?


SOFY: This is such an annoying answer, but probably narrowing down the songs for the project haha. I’ve made a LOT of music this year and I love it all, so it was quite a challenge to decide which songs were going to make the EP. Other than that, the whole process has just been so much fun, we had such a good time making this record and I think it really shines through when you listen to it. 



Has there been any moment in your career where you have felt you need to ‘pinch yourself’?


SOFY: This year has been full of pinch me moments - coming Top Five in the BBC Introducing Live Lounge competition earlier this year was mad, and knowing that artists who I look up to so much like Arlo Parks and Sam Fender had listened to and enjoyed my music was crazy. Also hearing a crowd of strangers sing Lads! Lads! Lads! (my second single) at The Lexington during our first non-socially distanced show was absolutely amazing. The song wasn’t even out, so to hear everyone singing it back and enjoying it was so special.

 

Are there any artists or songs you feel strongly influenced by for your own music?


SOFY: Imagine Lily Allen in the pub with Easy Life, with Blur behind the bar and OutKast on the jukebox and that’s kind of the SOFY vibe haha.

 

‘Antifreeze and Chocolate Biscuits’ is your Christmas single. We saw you promoting this song dressed as a Christmas tree with a sign on Oxford street (which was amazing!) Who came up with this idea? Did you have any interactions?


SOFY: Thank you! My manager Harry actually came up with the idea, not sure if it was because he’s a marketing genius or he just wanted to see me make an absolute twat out of myself in public. We definitely got a few weird looks and people asking for photos, the worst part is we shot the content in November so people were very confused


Possibly the best question, what is the most useless talent you have?


SOFY: I know pretty much every single dog breed on the planet because I memorised them all when I was a kid haha. Is that useless though? You tell me!


 
Connect with SOFY - Instagram/Twitter/YouTube

bottom of page