top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy

INTERVIEW: Alt-Pop Love You Later Talks On Her New Single

Written by Amy James

Photo Credit: @pixelgash

 

Love You Later is the solo alt-pop project of artist Lexi Aviles. Her style of music makes you feel on top of the world. Pairing electric melodies, honest lyrics with shimmery guitar riffs and euphoric synths, Love You Later is here to keep you on your toes. Her stage presence and list of artists she's opened for proves her determination, supporting the likes of OneRepublic, Dayglow, and Briston Maroney and selling out Nashville’s EXIT/IN herself.

With brand new single, out today, Love You Later is here to talk about 'Keepintouch'.


Hi! Welcome to the blog! Could you introduce yourself and where you are from?

Hi! Thanks so much for having me. My name is Lexi and I was born and raised in Orange County, California but I now reside in Nashville, Tennessee.


Your project name is Love You Later, which we love, is there a story behind the name?

I really wish there was a super cool story I could tell you on how I got the name but it’s mostly up for interpretation. Before labeling the project, the songs I was writing - that would later be released under LYL - were mainly all songs about love and relationships so I knew I wanted to incorporate ‘Love’ into the name. In addition, I’ve always felt like my love life can be complicated so I went with something that would leave people thinking and wanting to listen.


Are you able to explain the creative process behind making your latest single ‘Keepintouch’ ? Did it start with an influence?

I went into that writing session not really knowing what I wanted to write about but I did know what I was feeling that day - a lot of loneliness and isolation and confusion. So the session basically started out as a therapy session with co-writers and friends, Bre Kennedy and Kyle Dreaden. It turned into this energetic, life giving song with notes of loss, self-realization and self-discovery.



This is your first single in 2022, what does this year have in store for you?

I’ve been working on a bunch of new music so I’m excited to continue releasing music and playing a ton more shows outside of Nashville. They’re mainly goals and dreams of mine right now, but I’m doing everything I can to make it all happen :)

What do you think is the biggest misconception about being a musician?

We’re not all rich and famous even though the numbers may look like it, lol. I’m still working a side job as a nanny and have been since high school. Most artists really have to work for it and becoming a full time musician is a long and windy road.


“My boyfriend had just left for tour a few weeks prior and my friends were all starting to date people - of course, I wanted to be happy for the people I loved, but in all honesty it was really hard. I almost felt this sense of disconnection from myself like I had forgotten how to be alone."

- LOVE YOU LATER ON HER LATEST SINGLE

What has been your favourite live performance moment?

My favorite live moment is when I get the crowd to sing the outro of my song ‘Emily’ - it’s a really beautiful moment because it’s one of the more vulnerable parts of the set and hearing everyone sing it back to me is still stunning.

If you could have a billboard anywhere in the world of you, where would you choose?

London would be really crazy because although I still have never been, I’ve always been dying to go. There’s so much talent coming out of the UK that I’m inspired by.


Check out Love You Later's brand new single HERE


 

18th March 2022

bottom of page